Who we are | Applicable Legislation

Legislative and other Mandates of INSETA

INSETA is a schedule 3A Public Entity in terms of the PFMA. The INSETA must perform in accordance with the Skills Development Act (SDA), the Skills Development Levies Act (SDLA), the Public Finance Management Act (PFMA), any other relevant legislation and the INSETA Constitution.
The table represents the Acts/other mandate documents that predominantly direct and influences INSETA with respect to skills development.



Insurance Sector Education and Training Authority Constitution


The Skills Development Act, (SDA)1998 (as amended)


The Public Finance Management Act, (PFMA) 1999 (as amended)

This Constitution provides an institutional framework for the SETA to develop and implement national, sector and workplace strategies to develop and improve the skills of the South African workforce.

Provides an Institutional Framework to develop and implement national sector and workplace strategies to improve the skills of the SA workplace.

The PFMA seeks to regulate financial management in the national government and provincial governments

Skills Development Levies Act, (SDLA)1999

Provides for the imposition of the skills development levy and matters related thereto.

The Financial Advisory and Intermediary  Services (FAIS) Act, 2002

Sets out the Fit and Proper requirements for financial services providers. New requirements include compulsory Regulatory Examinations with strict timeframes as laid down by the Financial Services Board (FSB).

National Qualifications Framework Act, (NQF) 2009

To provide for the National Qualifications Framework.

National Skills Development Strategy III (NSDS III)

Creates a skilled and capable workforce that shares in, and contributes to, the benefits and opportunities of economic expansion and an inclusive growth path.

National Skills Accord (NSA)

Provides defined commitments that are in line with the National Growth Path strategy objective to create five million new jobs by 2020.

Sector Skills Plan (SSP)

Sets key priorities which guides discretionary grant spend and INSETA targets.

Annual Performance Plan (APP)

The annual performance plan contains INSETA’s performance commitments and measurement framework.

Service Level Agreement (SLA)

The SLA sets out the agreement between DHET and INSETA